The STRAZE is a place for theatre, politics, music, film, literature and party. There is space for initiatives, associations, workshops, open community offices. The house is open for spontaneous ideas and local needs.

News
Program

The STRAZE is an open house with space to create together and room to try things out.

Initiatives

A might fine monument!

The finishing touch! - To ensure we have a structurally sound home for our many activities for the next decades - and centuries – we are now restoring the façade on the north, west and south side of the house. This is the last major building work (for the time being). At present, there is only a base coat of plaster on the outer walls of the house, which will protect the masonry for a limited time only. What is still missing is an exterior render, decorative elements, a primer and two coats of paint so that the 825sqm façade will not only shine in new splendour but also protect the building fabric in the long term.

Wall painting and disco ball inside - stucco consoles outside

The house has a long history. In 1848 it was built as the "Gesellschaftshaus zum Greif". In the foyer, there are wall paintings from the time when an elephant once stood on the stage and the Prussian theatre complained about this "uncontrolled cultural excess". On the outside, the street-side west façade was decorated with 75 stucco consoles connected by an ornamental band. These decorative elements will be restored during the renovation in accordance with the preservation order.   

Donations needed - We want to complete the façade construction site by autumn 2022. The work on the façade will cost about € 200,000 and is partly funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the Rudolf August Oetker Foundation. We need to cover the rest of the costs through among other things, through doing some of the work ourselves ( e.g. painting worth about € 40,000 €) and donations.  We look forward to your donation!

The House

We have created a place that has the potential to have an impact on the region and the community. A free space and a nucleus for diverse activities. A place for experimenting and promoting more social and ecological models for the future.  read more

Die STRAZE ist ein Ort für Theater, Politik, Musik, Film, Literatur und Party. Es gibt Raum für Initiativen, Vereine, Werkstätten, offene Gemeinschafts­büros. Das Haus ist offen für spontane Ideen und lokale Bedürfnisse.

Aktuelles
Programm

Die STRAZE ist ein offenes Haus mit Raum zum gemeinschaftlichen Gestalten und Raum zum Ausprobieren

Initiativen

Ein Denkmal lebt und putzt sich heraus!

Der letzte Streich! - Damit die bauliche Substanz des Hauses ein volles Programm auch für die nächsten Jahrzehnte -und Jahrhunderte zulässt, wird jetzt im (vorerst) letzten Streich die denkmalgerechte Sanierung der Fassade an der Nord-, West- und Südseite abgeschlossen. Zurzeit befindet sich nur ein Grundputz auf den Außenmauern des Hauses, der das Gemäuer für eine begrenzte Zeit schützt. Es fehlen noch ein Außenputz, Schmuckelemente ein Voranstrich und zwei Farbanstriche, damit die 825qm Fassade nicht nur in neuem Glanz erstrahlen, sondern auf lange Sicht auch die Bausubstanz geschützt ist.

Die Straze war und ist keine graue Maus – Wandmalerei und Disco-Kugel drinnen – Stuckkonsolen draußen

Das Haus hat schon eine lange Geschichte. 1848 wurde es als "Gesellschaftshaus zum Greif" erbaut. Aus der Zeit, in der einmal ein Elefant auf der Bühne stand und das preußische Theater sich über diesen kulturellen "Wildwuchs" beschwerte, existieren noch Wandmalereien im Foyer. Außen war die straßenseitige Westfassade mit 75 Konsolen dekoriert, die durch ein Zierband miteinander verbunden waren. Diese Schmuckelemente sollen bei der denkmalgerechten Sanierung wiederhergestellt werden.    

Spenden gebraucht - Wir wollen die Fassadenbaustelle bis Herbst 2022 abschließen. Die Fassadenarbeiten, die ca. 200.000 € kosten, werden von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien sowie der Rudolf-August Oetker-Stiftung zum Teil gefördert. Es bleibt ein Eigenanteil, den wir u.a. durch Eigenleistungen (etwa 40.000 €, unsere Malerarbeiten) und Spenden aufbringen. Wir freuen uns auf deine/Ihre Spende!

Das Haus

Wir haben einen Ort geschaffen, der das Potenzial hat, in die Region und die Gemeinschaft hinein zu wirken. Einen Freiraum und eine Keimzelle für vielfältige Aktivitäten. Einen Ort des Experimentierens und Werbens für sozialere und ökologischere Zukunftsmodelle. weiterlesen